Speer Ouachita archivist recognized by national Council of State Archivists

    August 26, 2018

    Share this:

    ARKADELPHIA – Lisa Speer associate professor and university archivist at Ouachita Baptist University (OBU) has been honored with the Victoria Irons Walch Leadership Award by the national Council of State Archivists (CoSA). This award recognizes her leadership as former state historian and director of the Arkansas State Archives. Speer began serving at Ouachita in February. She accepted the award this month at the Joint Annual Meeting of CoSA the National Association of Government Archives and Records Administrators and the Society of American Archivists in Washington D.C.

    “The Council of State Archivists selected Dr. Speer because of two conspicuous leadership attributes” said Ray Granade director of library services and professor of history at Ouachita. “First Dr. Speer’s leadership is a collaborative one that extends to those who work at the state archives but also to stakeholders in the larger archival world particularly in Arkansas but also beyond. Second her leadership looks forward encompassing the brave new digital world that lies before all archives. Both traits illustrate her inclusive leadership style and her belief in active archival outreach instead of a passive waiting approach.”

    “It is both a privilege and a pleasure to welcome Dr. Lisa Speer to the position of archivist in Riley-Hickingbotham Library’s Special Collections” Granade added. “We have been blessed to have exemplary leadership in Special Collections and we know that Dr. Speer will continue that tradition of excellence.

    The Council of State Archives (CoSA) acknowledges institutions individuals and programs that have enriched and strengthened state and territorial archives. The Victoria Irons Walch Award recognizes the sustained leadership and outstanding contributions of an individual or institution in the field.

    Read more

    Baptist News, Across Arkansas, Featured